Christmas Album Review: This Christmas I Spend With You by Robert Goulet (1963)

Book coverThis album comes from early in Goulet’s career; in 1960, he got his big break in the musical Camelot, and three years later this album was out. You can tell that Goulet’s got a musical theatre background from this album, as he’s not so much singing these songs in a recording studio as he’s booming these songs out so you can hear them in the cheap seats.

The track list includes:

  • This Christmas I Spend With You
  • Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas
  • December Time
  • Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow!
  • The Christmas Song (Chesnuts Roasting On An Open Fire)
  • Silver Bells
  • Winter Wonderland
  • White Christmas
  • O Holy Night (Cantique De Noel)
  • Panis Angelicus
  • Ave Maria
  • O Come, All Ye Faithful

Given the booming presentation of each, this record does not get a lot of play. I think I hit it once last year (the first year we owned it), and I played side one this year. And that might be enough. It’s not mood music, and it’s not background music. It’s like a recording of a concert, and I’m not into live albums.

But if you’re into musical theatre or to an over the top style, perhaps it would be to your liking.

Album mentioned in this review:

Buy My Books!
Buy John Donnelly's Gold Buy The Courtship of Barbara Holt Buy Coffee House Memories