Christmas Album Review: Silent Night and 13 Other Best Loved Christmas Songs by Lawrence Welk (1961)

Book coverThis album is less of a big band sound than a modified bell and chimes choir sound. There are no singers vocalizing the words from the carols, but there are some choral voices singing notes to accompany the orchestra. And, as I said, bells and chimes (and harpsichord) are featured, but they’re backed with a depth of other instruments. So it falls somewhere in between a bells and chimes album and an instrumental bell album.

The track list includes:

  • Silent Night
  • Hark the Herald Angels Sing
  • I’ll Be Home for Christmas
  • White Christmas
  • Deck the Halls
  • God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
  • Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer
  • The First Noel
  • Adeste Fidelis
  • It Came Upon A Midnight Clear
  • O Little Town of Bethlehem
  • Joy to the World
  • Good King Wenceslas
  • Thanks for Christmas

I bought this album this year, so I don’t have a large sample size of its presence in the rotation, but it’s pleasant enough to have as background music while cooking or otherwise doing things in rooms adjacent to our parlor, where we have the record player and its records. But it’s not mood music, where you want to be in the same room while the record plays.

Books mentioned in this review:

Buy My Books!
Buy John Donnelly's Gold Buy The Courtship of Barbara Holt Buy Coffee House Memories